Fighting Fraud

Learn how to avoid scams that may hurt your chances of immigrating lawfully.

As immigration reform rapidly changes, we are committed to educating the community on how to avoid, identify, and report immigration services scams. We accept complaints from consumers who allege to be victims of these scams. Our staff will help you understand your rights and investigate claims of wrongdoing.

The Supreme Court’s (4-4) decision regarding the President’s plans to update and expand DACA requirements will cause many people to seek information about whether DACA is still valid or how the decision may affect one’s immigration status. Currently, United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) is NOT accepting applications towards these expanded requirements but continues to accept applications for the 2012 DACA program. This page outlines the basic steps of the current application process. DCBA recommends you work with a licensed lawyer who specializes in immigration law, when completing your application. You can visit the USCIS Find Legal Services page for their list of recognized resources, which may assist you for little or no cost.

What is DACA?

In June of 2012, the Department of Homeland Security created the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals program or DACA. The program provides qualifying individuals:

Permission to Stay – DACA provides permission for individuals to be present in the U.S. for up to two years or during the deferred action period.

Opportunity to Renew - DACA can be renewed. You cannot age-out of the DACA program.

Benefits – Those who receive deferred action can apply for a work permit and get a social security number and drivers license.

Even though being granted DACA means you become lawfully present in the United States it will NOT change your immigration status and is NOT a pathway to citizenship. DACA and the benefits received do not extend to family members and can be terminated at any time.

 “Am I Eligible?”

You may qualify for DACA if you:

  • You were under the age of 31 as of June 15, 2012.
  • Were physically present in the United States on June 15, 2012.
  • Came to the United States before your 16th birthday.
  • Have continuously resided in the United States since June 15, 2007, up to the present time.
  • Are currently in school, have graduated or obtained a certificate of completion from high school, have obtained a GED certificate, or are an honorably discharged U.S. Armed Forces/Coast Guard veteran.
  • Have not been convicted of a felony, significant misdemeanor, three or more other misdemeanors, and do not otherwise pose a threat to national security or public safety.

For more details on eligibility requirements visit the USCIS’s Frequently Asked Questions page or consult with an attorney.

How to Apply or Renew

How to apply for or renew under the DACA program:

  1. Collect documents (e.g., school records, medical records, financial records, employment records, military records) as evidence that you meet the above guidelines.
  2. Visit USCIS's website to download and print the forms for deferred action and work authorization.
  3. Complete and mail the completed forms to USCIS with the necessary fees (USCIS has stated that fees will be $465 in total for deferred action and work authorization). Few fee exemptions exist. Find more information through Fee Exemption Guidance For DACA
  4. Visit your local USCIS Application Support Center for a scheduled biometrics services appointment.
  5. Check the status of your request online at USCIS's website.

This page is solely for informational purposes and is in no way legal advice or to be used as a screening tool.

Updated Sept. 13, 2016

Quick Links