BOARD OF SUPERVISORS



COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES SMALL BUSINESS COMMISSION

Hilda L. Solis Mark Ridley-Thomas Sheila Kuehl Janice Hahn Kathryn Barger

"To Enrich Lives Through Effective and Caring Service"

Commission Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, February 6, 2019

10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

East Los Angeles Community Service Center Room 242 – 2nd floor 133 North Sunol Drive, Los Angeles, CA 90063

Item 1: Call to Order Vice Chair Jozef Essavi called the meeting to order at 10:03 A.M.

Item 2: Roll Call and Confirmation of Quorum Roll call was taken, and the quorum requirement was met.

Present	 1st Supervisorial District: Kerry Doi, Rose Acosta-Yonai 2nd Supervisorial District: Angela Gibson, Mark Robertson, W. Steven Temple, Ky Chueon Kim 3rd Supervisorial District: Lisa Miller, Todd Flora 4th Supervisorial District: Cindy Allen, Lucia Moreno-Linares, Anna Wu, Ann Carpenter 5th Supervisorial District: Tyrone Hampton, Jozef Essavi, Anthony Williams, Frieda Hovsepian
Absent	 1st Supervisorial District: Diane Araujo, Denis Quinonez 2nd Supervisorial District: Gene Hale 3rd Supervisorial District: Sharon Brown, Christine Hershey 4th Supervisorial District: None 5th Supervisorial District: Onnik Mehrabian
Staff	Joseph Nicchitta, Rafael Carbajal, Chavon Smith, David Diaz, Christian Olmos, Fernando Nieto, Jessica Mireles
Public	None

Item 3: New Commissioner Welcome

The Commission welcomed newly appointed Commissioner Todd Flora, who gave a brief summary of his professional background and small business interests.

Item 4: Approval of Small Business Commission Minutes

Commissioner Kerry Doi moved to approve the minutes of the Small Business Commission meeting for October 10, 2018. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Angela Gibson. Motion passed with one abstention.

Item 5: 2019 Elections

The Commission discussed its nomination process and reviewed the list of nominees. *Commissioner Tyrone Hampton moved to give each candidate 2 minutes to give a*

candidate statement. Motion was seconded by Commissioner Ann Carpenter, motion unanimously carried.

Commissioner Doi gave his candidate statement for Chair. Commissioners Josef Essavi, Tyrone Hampton, and W. Steven Temple each gave a candidate statement for Vice Chair.

Commissioner Hampton moved to allow write in nominations for Chair and Vice Chair. Commissioner Anthony Williams seconded the motion, motion unanimously carried.

Commissioner Carpenter moved to have Ballots cut in half and submit nominations for Chair and Vice Chair separately. Commissioner Lucia Moreno-Linares, seconded, motion unanimously carried.

Commissioner Temple moved to have Co-Chair's for the 2019 year. Commissioner Frieda Hovsepian seconded. Roll call vote was taken.

Ayes: 9 – Josef Essavi, Angela Gibson, W. Steven Temple, Lisa Miller, Todd Flora, Tyrone Hampton, Frieda Hovsepian, Rose Acosta-Yonai, Ky Chueon Kim

Nos: 7 – Kerry Doi, Mark Robertson, Cindy Allen, Lucia Moreno-Linares, Anna Wu, Ann Carpenter, Anthony Williams

Absent: 5 – Diane Araujo, Denis Quinonez, Gene Hale, Sharon Brown, Christine Hershey

Motion to have Co-Chairs passed. Commissioner Kerry Doi and Tyrone Hampton were appointed as Co-Chairs and W. Steven Temple has been appointed as Vice Chair of the Small Business Commission.

2018 Vice Chair Jozef Essavi thanked the commission for allowing him to serve and passed leadership of the remainder of the meeting to newly elected Co-Chairs Kerry Doi and Tyrone Hampton.

Item 6: 2019 Meeting Calendar

The Commission reviewed the 2019 meeting calendar, which included the Regular Commission meetings, and the committee meetings. The Commission requested revisions to the calendar's layout, including color coding. DCBA staff will make the requested revisions and send the revised calendar to the Commission.

Commissioner Robertson moved to have the Committees stand as staffed and move the upcoming Committee meetings from February 8th, 2019 to March 8th, 2019. Commissioner Williams Seconded, motion unanimously carried.

Item 7: Office of Small Business Update

Fernando Nieto, of DCBA's Office of Small Business (OSB), provided metrics on vendor utilization, vender certifications, and outreach events hosted and attended by OSB staff. Jessica Mireles, of OSB, provided an update on Senate bill SB-946, which allows sidewalk vending and permits local jurisdictions to regulate any health and safety related issues. The County has tasked Department of Public Health, Sheriff, Treasurer and Tax Collector, DCBA, and other relevant departments to implement regulations for sidewalk vending in the unincorporated areas of LA County.

Item 8: Future Agenda Items

Commissioners requested the following future agenda items:

- Sunset Review
- High Technology Sector
- Commission Goals

Item 9: Public Comment

None

Item 10: Adjournment The Small Business Commission meeting was adjourned at 12:03 P.M.