LOS ANGELES COUNTY SMALL BUSINESS COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration 500 W. Temple Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012 Wednesday, January 11, 2017 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Item 1: Call to Order Co-Chair R. Christine Hershey called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m.

Item 2: Roll call and Confirmation of Quorum Roll call was taken and the quorum requirement was met.

Present: Diane Araujo, Rose Acosta-Yonai, Sharon E. Brown (10:12), Kerry Doi, Jozef Essavi,

Tyrone Hampton (10:12), R. Christine Hershey, Anna S Johnson (10:50), Ky Chueon Kim, Keith McCarthy, Onnik Mehrabian (10:22), Lisa Miller, Denis Quinonez, Mark

Robertson, W. Steven Temple, Cecilia S. Wu

Absent: Raymond Bishop, David R. Harlow, Gene Hale, Jan Perry, Sean Piazza, Maggie

Soleimani, Dennis Young

Staff Present: Joel Ayala, Amanda Hernandez, Christian Olmos, Sabra Purifoy, Chavon Smith

Public: None

Item 3: Approval of Minutes for Regular Meeting on December 7, 2016

The motion to approve the minutes for December 7, 2016 was moved by Commissioner Keith McCarthy, seconded by Commissioner Kerry Doi. Motion passed unanimously.

Item 4: Chair and Vice Chair Election

Commissioner Mark Robertson, Chair of the 2017 Nominating Committee, provided a summary of the activities of the Nominating Committee. Commissioner Robertson presented the Nominating Committee's recommendation to elect the slate of Jan Perry for Chair, and Josef Essavi for Vice Chair.

Commissioner McCarthy moved to accept the recommendation of the Nominating Committee to elect Jan Perry for Chair and Josef Essavi for Vice Chair. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Doi. Motion passed unanimously, with one abstention.

Item 5: Election Results and Transfer of Gavel

Commissioner Jan Perry was elected Chair of the Small Business Commission. In her absence, the gavel was passed to the re-elected Vice Chair, Josef Essavi, to preside over the Small Business Commission meeting.

Item 6: 2016 Annual Report

DCBA Chief Deputy Director Joel Ayala presented the revised Small Business Commission Annual Report, which was previously reviewed by the Executive Committee in December 2016. Commissioner Robertson made a motion to approve the 2016 Annual Report, seconded by Commissioner Hampton. During discussion, the following recommendations were made:

Commissioner McCarthy requested that the report be revised to include the commission's support of the minimum wage ordinance under "Activities and Accomplishments"

The motion to approve the 2016 Small Business Annual Report, with amendments, passed unanimously.

Item 7: Proposed Composition of Committees

The Executive Committee brought a proposal to the Commission to merge the four standing committees into two committees. The Executive Committee discussed the mission and goals of each committee, including recent agenda items, meeting frequency, commissioner attendance, and how to minimize the overlap between committees by merging the Economic Development Committee with the Outreach Committee, and the Procurement Committee with the Reciprocity Committee. Commissioner Cecilia Wu moved to approve the recommendation from the Executive Committee. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Sharon Brown. Motion passed unanimously.

Item 8: Small Business Services Update

Sabra Purifoy, of DCBA's Small Business Services, provided several updates from the Small Business Services unit, including the Four Year Utilization quarterly report, the Small Business Services Scorecard, and a list of upcoming outreach events- including "Contracting Connections".

Item 9: Future Agenda Items

Commissioner Lisa Miller requested an agenda item on female Veteran business owners

Commissioner W. Steven Temple requested an agenda item on the insurance requirement for small businesses that are interested in doing business with the County of Los Angeles.

Commissioner Anna Johnson requested an agenda item on the statistics for procurement opportunities within the County.

Item 10: Public Comment

None

Item 11: Adjournment

The Small Business Commission meeting was adjourned at 12:02 p.m.