



COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES CONSUMER AFFAIRS ADVISORY COMMISSION

Hilda L. Solis Mark Ridley-Thomas Sheila Kuehl Janice Hahn Kathryn Barger

"To Enrich Lives Through Effective and Caring Service"

Commission Meeting Minutes

Thursday, May 21, 2020 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Meeting Held via Teleconference

Item 1: Call to Order Chair Gomez called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m.

Item 2: Roll Call and Confirmation of Quorum Roll call was taken, and the quorum requirement was met.

Present 1st District: Farrell Chiles, Mike Gomez

2nd District: Eugene Hale, Gregory Gorman, Ronnie Jayne

3rd District: Eugene Willis Jr, Joan Patsy Ostroy
 4th District: Charline Sistrunk, Marcel Rodarte
 5th District: Daniel Deng, Harry Leon, Vivian Chan

Absent 1st **District:** Mark Ramos

2nd District: None

3rd District: Ross Viselman

4th District: None 5th District: None

Staff Joseph Nicchitta, Rafael Carbajal, Joel Ayala, Maggie Becerra, Mary Safaryan,

Sayuj Panicker, Francisco Mendez, David Diaz

Public None

Item 3: Approval of Consumer Affairs Advisory Commission (CAAC) Minutes

Commissioner Jayne moved to approve the minutes of the CAAC meeting for November 21, 2019. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Ostroy. Motion passed with Commissioner Rodarte abstaining from the vote.

Item 4: 2020 CAAC Elections

The CAAC voted for Chair and Vice-Chair of the Commission for the 2020 calendar year. The ballot included Commissioner Mike Gomez for Chair and Commissioners Joan Patsy Ostroy and Gregory Gorman for Vice-Chair. Voting was held via roll-call vote as follows:

Mike Gomez – Mike Gomez and Joan Patsy Ostroy Joan Patsy Ostroy - Mike Gomez and Joan Patsy Ostroy Farrell Chiles - Mike Gomez and Joan Patsy Ostroy Eugene Hale – Not present at time of voting Gregory Gorman - Mike Gomez and Gregory Gorman Ronnie Jayne - Mike Gomez and Joan Patsy Ostroy Eugene Willis - Mike Gomez and Joan Patsy Ostroy Charline Sistrunk - Mike Gomez and Joan Patsy Ostroy

Marcel Rodarte - Mike Gomez and Joan Patsy Ostroy

Vivian Chan - Mike Gomez and Joan Patsy Ostroy Daniel Deng – Not present at time of voting Harry Leon - Mike Gomez and Gregory Gorman

Based on majority, Commissioner Mike Gomez was elected as Chair and Commissioner Joan Patsy Ostroy was elected as Vice-Chair.

Item 5: Commissioner Welcome

Newly appointed Commissioner Eugene Hale, from the Second Supervisorial District, was introduced to the CAAC and general public. After Commissioner Hale gave a brief introduction and biography, he was welcomed to the Commission by Chair Gomez and all present Commissioners.

Item 6: 2019 Annual Report

The 2019 Annual Report was presented to the CAAC for review and approval. Commissioner Ostroy moved for the adoption of the 2019 Annual Report as presented. Commissioner Leon seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.

Item 7: 2020 Commission Goals

After consideration of the goals and given the changes of and challenges faced by COVID-19, Chair Gomez recommended that the Executive Committee re-draft the 2020 Commission Goals. After discussion, the CAAC agreed to send the goals to Executive Committee and present the re-drafted goals at a future Commission meeting.

Item 8: Department of Consumer and Business Affairs (DCBA) COVID-19 Efforts and Responses

Maggie Becerra, Deputy Director of Consumer Protection and Mary Safaryan, Consumer and Business Affairs Representative III, provided information on efforts made by DCBA to assist Los Angeles County residents and consumers impacted by COVID-19. Among these efforts, information on increased price gouging protections, the establishment of the Los Angeles Price Gouging Task Force, the soon to be launched price gouging app, counseling and mediation statistics, the eviction moratorium and the tenant bill of rights was shared.

Item 9: Future Agenda Items

None

Item 10: Public Comment

None

Item 11: Adjournment

Commissioner Chan moved to adjourn the CAAC meeting. Commissioner Rodarte seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned at 11:59 a.m.