

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES SMALL BUSINESS COMMISSION

Members of the Board

Hilda L. Solis Mark Ridley-Thomas Sheila Kuehl Janice Hahn Kathryn Barger

REGULAR MEETING NOTICE AND AGENDA

Meeting Held Via Teleconference Wednesday, July 8, 2020 10:00 a.m. - 11:45 a.m.

Phone Access Number: +1-408-418-9388 Phone Access Code/Meeting Number: 126 389 5558 Web Access: <u>SBC WEBEX Link</u> Web Access Password: SBCDCBA!

I. ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS

- 1) Call to Order
- 2) Roll Call and Confirmation of Quorum
- 3) Approval of Regular Meeting Minutes for:
 - a. April 8, 2020 (Action Item)

II. DISCUSSIONS

- 4) Department of Consumer and Business Affairs (DCBA) Update on COVID-19 and Civil Unrest Efforts and Responses
 - Azusena Favela, Deputy Director of Economic Development, will answer questions regarding efforts made to support small businesses affected by COVID-19 and the recent civil unrest. (Discussion and Possible Action Item)
- 5) Office of Small Business (OSB) Small Business Utilization (SBU)
 - a. Christian Olmos, Program Chief, and Fernando Nieto, Consumer Affairs Representative III, will provide updates on the SBU goals.
 (Discussion and Possible Action Item)

III. UPDATES

- 6) Small Business Committee Updates
 - a. Chairs of the Procurement and Reciprocity and the Economic Development and Outreach Committees will provide updates to the SBC.

Commissioners Chair Kerry Doi First District

Vice Chair W. Steven Temple Second District

Diane L. Araujo First District

Andrew E. Rodriguez *First District*

Rose Acosta- Yonai First District

Angela Gibson Second District

Mark J. Robertson Second District

Will Campbell Second District

Ky Chueon Kim Second District Alternate

Sharon E. Brown Third District

R. Christine Hershey *Third District*

Lisa Miller Third District

Todd D. Flora Third District

Amy Ablakat Third District Alternate

Cindy Allen Fourth District

Lucia Moreno-Linares Fourth District

Anna Wu Fourth District

Ann Carpenter Fourth District

Patrick Wilson Fourth District Alternate

Anthony Williams Fifth District

Frieda Hovsepian Fifth District

Jozef Essavi Fifth District

Tyrone Hampton Fifth District

Onnik Mehrabian Fifth District Alternate



COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES SMALL BUSINESS COMMISSION Members of the Board

Hilda L. Solis Mark Ridley-Thomas Sheila Kuehl Janice Hahn Kathryn Barger

7) Office of Small Business Update (OSB)

a. Staff from OSB will provide metrics on vender certifications and outreach efforts.

IV. MISCELLANEOUS

- 8) Future Agenda Items
- 9) Public Comment
- 10) Adjournment

NEXT MEETING: **Tuesday, October 20, 2020** 10:00 a.m.- 11:45 a.m. Location and Format TBD

500 W. Temple Street, Room B-96, Los Angeles, CA 90012-2706 Telephone (213) 974-1452 * (800) 593-8222 Fax (213) 687-1137 * Website: <u>dcba.lacounty.gov</u>

Commissioners

Chair Kerry Doi First District

Vice Chair W. Steven Temple Second District

Diane L. Araujo First District

Andrew E. Rodriguez First District

Rose Acosta- Yonai First District

Angela Gibson Second District

Mark J. Robertson Second District

Will Campbell Second District

Ky Chueon Kim Second District Alternate

Sharon E. Brown Third District

R. Christine Hershey Third District

Lisa Miller Third District

Todd D. Flora Third District

Amy Ablakat Third District Alternate

Cindy Allen Fourth District

Lucia Moreno-Linares Fourth District

Anna Wu Fourth District

Ann Carpenter Fourth District

Patrick Wilson Fourth District Alternate

Anthony Williams Fifth District

Frieda Hovsepian Fifth District

Jozef Essavi *Fifth District*

Tyrone Hampton Fifth District

Onnik Mehrabian Fifth District Alternate

Please note that public comment will be accepted by e-mail or mail.

You may submit public comment by e-mail to <u>DCBA_Commissions@DCBA.lacounty.gov</u> or by mail to:

> Attention: Department of Consumer and Business Affairs 500 West Temple Street, Room B96 Los Angeles, CA 90012.

Written public comment or documentation must be submitted no later than 5:00 p.m. the day before the scheduled meeting. Please include the Agenda item and meeting date in your correspondence. Correspondence received shall become part of the official record.

LOBBYIST REGISTRATION

Any person who seeks support or endorsement from the Commission on any official action may be subject to the provisions of Los Angeles County Code, Chapter 2.160 relating to lobbyists. Violation of the lobbyist ordinance may result in a fine and other penalty. For further information, call (213) 974-1093.

ACCOMMODATIONS

Accommodations, American Sign Language (ASL) interpreters, or assisted listening devices are available with at least three business days' notice before the meeting date. Agendas in Braille and/or alternate formats are available upon request. Please telephone (213) 974-1431 (voice) or (213) 974-1707 (TDD), from 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Para Información en español, por favor comuníquese a la oficina de Servicios de Comisión al numero (213) 974-1431 entre 8:00 a.m. Y 5:00 p.m. lunes a viernes.

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION

Supporting documentation can be obtained at the Department of Consumer and Business Affairs, Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration, 500 West Temple Street, Room B-96, Los Angeles, CA 90012 during normal business hours: Monday – Friday, 8:00 A.M. – 4:30 P.M.