LOS ANGELES COUNTY
@ CONSUMER &
BUSINESS AFFAIRS

CONTRACTORS AND AVOIDING SCAMS

A HELP FOR HOMEOWNERS WEBINAR




Optimize Your Experience

(Keep the chat box open D look for this symbol to open it.)

Use the chat box to ask questions.
Questions will be answered during the webinar or at the end during

the Q & A period.



OUR MISSION

LOS ANGELES COUNTY

CONSUMER &
BUSINESS AFFAIRS

“Io promote a fair and vibrant marketplace, we serve consumers, businesses,

and communities through education, advocacy, and complaint resolution.”

Serving Los Angeles County consumers and businesses since 1976




CONTRACTORS STATE LICENSE BOARD (CSLB)

Licensing and regulatory body over construction industry

Investigates complaints against licensed and unlicensed contractors for violations of
California’s Contractors License Laws (up to 4 years from the date of the act)

* Includes active projects, illegal advertisements by unlicensed contractors, failing to pull permits

CSLB licensure is required for contractors performing projects totaling $500 or more
(labor and materials)

Did you know!?

* Contractor Salespersons are also required to be registered with CSLB




CONTRACTOR REQUIREMENTS

TO QUALIFY FOR A LICENSE

* Contractor must verify four years of
journey-level experience

* Pass two tests to obtain licensure:

* Law and business
* Trade

* Pass a criminal background check

* Obtain and post a license bond for
$12,500 — viewable on CSLB website

* Note: Unlicensed contractors can only
perform work valued $500 or less




A DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
[/ conTRACTORS
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Consumers Licensees Applicants On

HOW TO VERIFY A i
CONTRACTOR'’S LICENSE et

(HIS) Registration

Look up a contractor license or Home Improvement Salesperson (HIS) registration te verify infermation, including

complaint disclosure. Before hiring a contracter or signing a contract, CSLB recommends you read the Hiring a
Contractor page.

eecee
* CSLB-specific and licensing questions: e —————
* (800) 321-2752

Contractor License # |

[=]searcuTiPs

A California contractor license number doesn’t contain alphabetic characters. Each contractor's plastic pocket

license will show the respective license number. Begin entry of your license number at the left position and don't
exceed 8 digits in the license number.

Please note: Our database is unavailable Sundays at 8 p.m. through Monday at 6 a.m. due to scheduled maintenance.

Trying to hire a licensed contractor and don’t know where to start? Click here to create a list of licensed contractors by
= = City or ZIP code.
* Visit

* https://www.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/CheckLicensell/Checklicense.aspx
* Check a contractor’s license by zip code:

* https://www.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/CheckLicensell/ZipCodeSearch.aspx



https://www.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/CheckLicenseII/CheckLicense.aspx
https://www.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/CheckLicenseII/ZipCodeSearch.aspx

WHAT TO KNOW WHEN HIRING A CONTRACTOR
(WRITTEN CONTRACTS)

* Required for home improvement projects over $500

* Contracts must include
* Contractor’s name, business address, and their contractor license number
* A detailed scope of work with the products and materials to be used. How work will be performed.
* Payment schedule.
* Who gets the building permits
* Date of completion
* Debris cleanup or removal

* 3 day right to cancel.

* Any Changes must be done in writing with a ‘Change Order’

* Keep in mind certain projects may demand additional plans and scale drawings




WHAT TO KNOW WHEN HIRING A CONTRACTOR
(CONTINUED)

* Down Payments

* Cannot exceed $1,000 or 10% of the total contract price- whichever is less; Regardless of the

project size.

* Solar Projects ONLY

* As of Jan 1,2019: Contractors must provide Solar Energy System Disclosure Document

* Contract and document must be written in the same language used in the verbal presentation

IMPORTANT: Don’t rush!

Read the contract before you sign and make sure you understand all the terms.




MECHANIC’S LIENS

WHAT IS A MECHANIC’S LIEN WHAT IF A MECHANICS LIEN IS FILED?
* A legal claim on property for unpaid work or * Determine if it is a valid lien
supplies

* Record Keeping

 Can be filed by an unpaid contractor, * Preliminary Notice

subcontractor, laborer, or materials supplier

« CONTACT AN ATTORNEY
* Must be recorded at the County recorder’s

office within 90 days of completing the
worlk; or 60 days after the owner records

a notice of completion or cessation.




COMMON CONTRACTOR SCAMS

Door-to-door sales

* “Happen to be in the neighborhood...” or “happens to have leftover materials”

Requires the money up front or requires a large down payment

Uses high-pressure sales tactics

* Offer only good for today

Agrees to the job and while doing work, finds other issues to repair

Swaps expensive materials for cheaper materials

Incomplete portions of the contract (fill in later)

Contact DCBA (800) 593-8222




HELPFUL TIPS

* Check the License * Three days to cancel

* Only hire licensed contractors * Down payment

* Get three bids Schedule payments

* Permits Never pay cash

Final payment

* Written contract




LOS ANGELES COUNTY
CONTACT US

IN PERSON BY PHONE

« Consumer Services

* Headquarters
(800) 593-8222

500 W. Temple St.
Room B-96
Los Angeles, CA 90012

(temporarily closed)

Muiltilingual Staff Available




FOLLOW US

FOR SCAM ALERTS, CONSUMER/BUSINESS NEWS AND MORE:

LACountyDCBA

@LACountyDCBA
, @LACOconsumidor

twitter

@LACoSmallBiz

l @' LACountyDCBA

LOS ANGELES COUNTY
@ CONSUMER &
BUSINESS AFFAIRS




QUESTIONS ?




LOS ANGELES COUNTY
CONSUMER &
BUSINESS AFFAIRS
THANK YOU!

DCBA.LACOUNTY.GOV/FORECLOSURE-PREVENTION
(800) 593-8222
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