



COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES SMALL BUSINESS COMMISSION

Hilda L. Solis Mark Ridley-Thomas Sheila Kuehl Janice Hahn Kathryn Barger

Commissioners

Chair Kerry Doi First District

Vice Chair
W. Steven Temple
Second District

Diane L. Araujo First District

Andrew E. Rodriguez First District

Rose Acosta- Yonai First District

Angela Gibson Second District

Mark J. Robertson Second District

Will Campbell Second District

Ky Chueon Kim Second District Alternate

Sharon E. Brown Third District

R. Christine Hershey Third District

Lisa Miller Third District

Todd D. Flora

Amy Ablakat
Third District Alternate

Cindy Allen Fourth District

Lucia Moreno-Linares Fourth District

Anna Wu Fourth District

Ann Carpenter Fourth District

Patrick Wilson Fourth District Alternate

Anthony Williams Fifth District

Frieda Hovsepian Fifth District

Jozef Essavi Fifth District

Tyrone Hampton Fifth District

Onnik Mehrabian Fifth District Alternate

REGULAR MEETING NOTICE AND AGENDA

Meeting Held Via Teleconference Wednesday, October 21, 2020 10:00 a.m. - 11:45 a.m.

Web Access: Small Business Commission Meeting Link

Web Access Password: DCBASBC!
Phone Access Number: +1-213-306-3065
Phone Access Code/Meeting Number: 126 590 3844

I. ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS

- 1) Call to Order
- 2) Roll Call and Confirmation of Quorum
- 3) Approval of Regular Meeting Minutes for:
 - a. July 8, 2020 (Action Item)
- 4) Approval of 2021 Commission Meeting Calendar (Action Item)
- Introduction of Department of Consumer and Business Affairs (DCBA)
 Acting Director, Rafael Carbajal

II. DISCUSSIONS

- 6) Establishment of Small Business Commission (SBC) Nomination Committee
 - a. The SBC will establish the Nomination Committee to select Chair and Vice-Chair of the SBC for the 2021 calendar year. (Action Item)

III. PRESENTATIONS

- 7) Internal Services Department (ISD) Simplified Acquisition Process (SAP) Update
 - a. Michael Owh, General Manager of Purchasing and Contracting Services for ISD, will provide information and updates regarding the SAP.
 (Discussion and Possible Action Item)
- 8) DCBA Hall of Records Move Progress
 - Azusena Favela, Deputy Director of Economic Development for DCBA, will share information and images regarding the new headquarters of DCBA at the Hall of Records.



Commissioners

Chair

Kerry Doi First District

Vice Chair W. Steven Temple Second District

Diane L. Araujo First District

Andrew E. Rodriguez First District

Rose Acosta- Yonai First District

Angela Gibson Second District

Mark J. Robertson Second District

Will Campbell Second District

Ky Chueon Kim Second District Alternate

Sharon E. Brown Third District

R. Christine Hershey Third District

Lisa Miller Third District

Todd D. Flora

Amy Ablakat Third District Alternate

Cindy Allen Fourth District

Lucia Moreno-Linares Fourth District

Anna Wu Fourth District

Ann Carpenter Fourth District

Patrick Wilson Fourth District Alternate

Anthony Williams Fifth District

Frieda Hovsepian Fifth District

Jozef Essavi Fifth District

Tyrone Hampton Fifth District

Onnik Mehrabian Fifth District Alternate

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES SMALL BUSINESS COMMISSION

Members of the Board

Hilda L. Solis Mark Ridley-Thomas Sheila Kuehl Janice Hahn Kathryn Barger

- 9) DCBA- COVID-19 Recovery Fund Update
 - Azusena Favela, Deputy Director of Economic Development for DCBA, will share information on the deployment of small business grants through the LA Regional COVID-19 Recovery Fund.

IV. UPDATES

- 10) Small Business Committee Updates
 - a. Chairs of the Procurement and Reciprocity and the Economic Development and Outreach Committees will provide updates to the SBC.

I. MISCELLANEOUS

- 11) Future Agenda Items
- 12) Public Comment
- 13) Adjournment

NEXT MEETING: **January 13, 2020** 10:00 a.m.- 11:45 a.m. Location and Format TBD

Please note that public comment will be accepted by e-mail or mail.

You may submit public comment by e-mail to DCBA.lacounty.gov or by mail to:

Attention:

Department of Consumer and Business Affairs 500 West Temple Street, Room B96 Los Angeles, CA 90012.

Written public comment or documentation must be submitted no later than 5:00 p.m. the day before the scheduled meeting. Please include the Agenda item and meeting date in your correspondence.

Correspondence received shall become part of the official record.

LOBBYIST REGISTRATION

Any person who seeks support or endorsement from the Commission on any official action may be subject to the provisions of Los Angeles County Code, Chapter 2.160 relating to lobbyists. Violation of the lobbyist ordinance may result in a fine and other penalty. For further information, call (213) 974-1093.

ACCOMMODATIONS

Accommodations, American Sign Language (ASL) interpreters, or assisted listening devices are available with at least three business days' notice before the meeting date. Agendas in Braille and/or alternate formats are available upon request. Please telephone (213) 974-1431 (voice) or (213) 974-1707 (TDD), from 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Para Información en español, por favor comuníquese a la oficina de Servicios de Comisión al numero (213) 974-1431 entre 8:00 a.m. Y 5:00 p.m. lunes a viernes.

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION

Supporting documentation can be obtained at the Department of Consumer and Business Affairs, Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration, 500 West Temple Street, Room B-96, Los Angeles, CA 90012 during normal business hours: Monday – Friday, 8:00 A.M. – 4:30 P.M.