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» California Foreclosure Process
* Deed of Trust
Agend Q  Other Types of Liens
* Lien Superiority
* Protections and Limitations




aclosure

The legal process used by lenders to recover the
balance of a loan, secured against a property, when
the property owner fails to meet the obligations of the

loan
» Judicial
- Amortgage which involves a borrower and a
lender
* Lender must sue in court in order to foreclose
» Non-Judicial

* A Deed of Trust involves a borrower, a lender
and a trustee Lender instructs the trustee to
foreclosure when a borrower defaults

* No court proceedings are necessary

California has both processes, however, non judicial==
IS most common. =—




Documents with
the Power of Sale

A Deed of Trust is recorded
when a loan is taken against your
property.

- Borrower/Mortgagor = Owner

i * Lender/Mortgagee = Lender
 Trustee = Third party
 Legal Description

»Purchase Money Loans
» Refinances

»Hard Money
»Reverse Mortgages




Assessment Liens

»Home Owner Association —
CC&R

» Foreclosure can begin as

SOON as an owner owes
$1,800 in dues

»90-day right of redemption

» Can be Judicial or Non-
Judicial




Defaulted Tax Liens

»Unpaid property taxes for a
minimum of 5-years

» Notice of defaulted taxes
recorded

» TTC auctions property

» California Controller’s
property tax Postponement
program available to
qualifying seniors.




Lien Priority in California

Priority rules are set to establish superior and
subordinate status when two or more liens are

recorded against a property.

» Liens can be established in two ways:
» Consensual, for example a Deed of Trust
* Non-Consensually / involuntary

» Timing is going to play a large role in position
» Recording helps secure position



Foreclosure with Multiple Liens

» All liens secured against a property
with the power of sale have the right to
foreclose, despite position.

* [t is a common misconception that
Junior or Subordinate liens cannot
foreclose if there is a lien ahead of
them

* When a superior lien forecloses, junior
liens will lose their security instrument
against the property.

» This does not always mean they will
lose their ability to collect the debt.
Most commonly, a junior lien may make
a claim against excess proceeds.



Why is this important

» The CARES act placed a foreclosure moratorium
for all loans which were federally backed.
Including Government Sponsored Enterprises

s/(i\SOIE)UFSr%c'I&jie Mac and Fannie Mae, FHA/HUD, cA R Es Act

Ald, Rellafl, and Ecenombe Seciuirily Ael

» Property owners were allowed a temporary

forbearance on their payments simply by making
a request to their lender

» Forbearance extensions

» It is important to understand the current laws will

not permanently protect a property from
foreclosure.




AB 3088

The Small Landlord and Homeowner Relief Act

The bill required lenders to review certain property owners for
a temporary forbearance, just as the CARES Act did for
federally backed loans.

The bill only applied to the following:
* Liens who held the first position
* A property with 1 — 4 units
- Owner occupancy was not required.




AB 3088 continued

» Property owners must have been current on their mortgage as of February 1, 2020.
» Property owners must prove they were financially impacted by COVID-19.
»Lenders now required to give details if a property owner is denied assistance.

» Property owners given an opportunity to appeal or resubmit a request in some
situations

»Lenders must also discuss post-forbearance options with homeowners




California
COVID-19 Rent
Relief Fund

 This fund is available to Landlords as well as tenants through SB 91.
$2.6 billion dollars were allocated to eligible households.

» The program requires both parties to work together to complete the
process. Forexample, a landlord would be provided with 80% of the
unpaid rent, as long as the other 20% was forgiven.

- Landlords and tenants should apply online at housingiskey.com or call
(833)430-2122




Los Angeles County
Mortgage Relief Program

« The Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors
passed a Motion to create a new Mortgage
Relief program to property owners.

« The program is providing direct assistance to
property owners who qualify, up to $20,000.

* Residents of the County of Los Angeles are
eligible

« Residents of the City of Los Angeles are
ineligible.

* Property must be owner occupied.
* Property can contain no more then 4 units.

« Counseling with a HUD approved counselor is
required.

» Contact the program directly at (888) 895-2647
for more information and how to apply.




Foreclosure
Prevention Division

« Help with exploring options for
property owners and landlords of
15 or fewer units

* Free

* Proper application of laws and
other guidelines

 Call directly to discuss individual
situations




LOS ANGELES COUNTY

CONSUMER & Contact Us
BUSINESS AFFAIRS

E-MAIL BY PHONE

Homehelp@dcba.lacounty.gov Consumer Services

~—F (800) 593-8222

—

Multilingual Staff Available

dcba.lacounty.gov/foreclosure-prevention



Questions?




	Lien Position and�Foreclosure Protections
	



“To promote a fair and vibrant marketplace, we serve consumers, businesses, and communities through education, advocacy, and complaint resolution.”

Serving Los Angeles County consumers and businesses since 1976
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