

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES SMALL BUSINESS COMMISSION

Board of Supervisors

Hilda L. Solis Holly J. Mitchell Sheila Kuehl Janice Hahn Kathryn Barger

Commissioners

Chair Mark J. Robertson Second District

Vice Chair W. Steven Temple Second District

Diane L. Araujo First District

Kerry Doi First District

Andrew E. Rodriguez *First District*

Rose Acosta- Yonai First District

Will Campbell Second District

Angela Gibson Second District

Ky Chueon Kim Second District Alternate

James Conlon Third District

R. Christine Hershey Third District

Scott Mayers, Ph.D. Third District

Cindy Allen Fourth District

Ann Carpenter Fourth District

Lucia Moreno-Linares Fourth District

Anna Wu Fourth District

Patrick Wilson Fourth District Alternate

Jozef Essavi Fifth District

Tyrone Hampton Fifth District

Frieda Hovsepian Fifth District

Anthony Williams Fifth District

Onnik Mehrabian Fifth District Alternate **REGULAR MEETING NOTICE AND AGENDA**

Meeting Held Via Teleconference Wednesday, January 12, 2022 10:00 a.m. - 11:45 a.m.

Web Access: <u>SBC Meeting Link</u> Web Access Password: WDACSSBC! Phone Access Number: +1-650-479-3208 Phone Access Code/Meeting Number: 2555 837 1066

I. ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS

- 1) Call to Order
- 2) Roll Call and Confirmation of Quorum
- 3) Approval of Regular Meeting Minutes for:
 - 1) October 20, 2021 (Action Item)
- 4) Small Business Commission (SBC) 2022 Elections
 - 1) The SBC will vote for 2022 Chair and Vice Chair of the SBC.
- 5) Introduction of SBC Commissioner Scott Mayers, Ph.D., 3rd Supervisorial District
 - 1) The SBC will introduce and welcome newly appointed SBC Commissioner Dr. Scott Mayers, from the 3rd Supervisorial District.
- 6) Introduction of Economic Workforce Dev Executive Director, Kelly LoBianco
 - 1) The SBC welcomes Executive Director Kelly LoBianco
- 7) SBC Sub-Committee Interest Cards
 - Marissa Lao, WDACS Commission Liaison, will share information on membership procedures for Commissioners to serve on the SBC Procurement and Reciprocity Committee and/or the Economic Development and Outreach Committee.
- The SBC Nominating Committee recommends the SBC Commission consider changing the by-laws election of Chair and Vice Chair from every year to every other year.
 - 1) Sayuj Panicker, Deputy County Counsel, Office of the Los Angeles County Counsel, will address this issue.

II. PRESENTATIONS

9) Chief Executive Office (CEO) – Equity in County Contracting (ECC)



COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES SMALL BUSINESS COMMISSION

Board of Supervisors

Hilda L. Solis Holly J. Mitchell Sheila Kuehl Janice Hahn Kathryn Barger

Emy Tzimoulis and her team will present on simplifying and modernizing County contracting process to ensure equitable accessibility to County contracts for all communities. **(Discussion)**

10) Small Business Administration

Victor Parker, Acting Associate Administrator for the Office of Field Operation will share an overview and update on Small Business Administration efforts to help the small business community. **(Discussion)**

11) California Department of Financial Protection and Innovation

Christina Tetreault, Deputy Commissioner, Office of Financial Technology Innovation will provide an overview of the Department's work on small business lending issues. **(Discussion)**

12) Merriwether and Williams Contractor Development and Bonding Assistance

Ingrid Merriwether, CEO, and her team will present an overview of the Contractor Development and Bonding Assistance Program that was recently initiated by the County of Los Angeles. **(Discussion)**

III. UPDATES

- 13) SBC Procurement and Reciprocity and Economic Development & Outreach Committee Updates. (Discussion)
- 14) WDACS OSB Update

Staff from OSB will provide metrics on vendor certifications and outreach events hosted and attended by OSB staff. **(Discussion)**

V. MISCELLANEOUS

- 15) SBC Future Agenda Items
- 16) Public Comment
- 17) Adjournment

NEXT MEETING: **April 13, 2022** 10:00 a.m.- 11:45 a.m. Location and Format To Be Determined Based on Brown Act Suspensions

Commissioners

Chair Mark J. Robertson Second District

Vice Chair W. Steven Temple Second District

Diane L. Araujo First District

Kerry Doi First District

Andrew E. Rodriguez First District

Rose Acosta- Yonai First District

Will Campbell Second District

Angela Gibson Second District

Ky Chueon Kim Second District Alternate

James Conlon Third District

R. Christine Hershey Third District

Scott Mayers, Ph.D. Third District

Cindy Allen Fourth District

Ann Carpenter Fourth District

Lucia Moreno-Linares Fourth District

Anna Wu Fourth District

Patrick Wilson Fourth District Alternate

Jozef Essavi *Fifth District*

Tyrone Hampton Fifth District

Frieda Hovsepian Fifth District

Anthony Williams Fifth District

Onnik Mehrabian Fifth District Alternate

Please note that public comment will be accepted by e-mail or mail.

You may submit public comment by e-mail to <u>DCBA_Commissions@DCBA.lacounty.gov</u> or by mail to:

Attention: Department of Workforce Development, Aging and Community Services 510 S. Vermont Avenue Los Angeles, CA 90020

Written public comment or documentation must be submitted no later than 5:00 p.m. the day before the scheduled meeting. Please include the Agenda item and meeting date in your correspondence. Correspondence received shall become part of the official record.

LOBBYIST REGISTRATION

Any person who seeks support or endorsement from the Commission on any official action may be subject to the provisions of Los Angeles County Code, Chapter 2.160 relating to lobbyists. Violation of the lobbyist ordinance may result in a fine and other penalty. For further information, call (213) 974-1093.

ACCOMMODATIONS

Accommodations, American Sign Language (ASL) interpreters, or assisted listening devices are available with at least three business days' notice before the meeting date. Agendas in Braille and/or alternate formats are available upon request. Please telephone (213) 974-1431 (voice) or (213) 974-1707 (TDD), from 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Para información en español, por favor comuníquese a la oficina de Servicios de Comisión al numero (213) 974-1431 entre 8:00 a.m. y 5:00 p.m. lunes a viernes.

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION

Supporting documentation can be obtained at the Department of Workforce Development, Aging and Community Services, 510 S Vermont Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90020 during normal business hours: Monday – Friday, 8:00 A.M. – 4:30 P.M.