

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES SMALL BUSINESS COMMISSION

Board of Supervisors

Hilda L. Solis Holly J. Mitchell Sheila Kuehl Janice Hahn Kathryn Barger

REGULAR MEETING NOTICE AND AGENDA

Meeting Held Via Teleconference Wednesday, October 12, 2022 10:00 a.m. - 11:45 a.m.

Web Access: <u>SBC Meeting Link</u> Web Access Password: DEOSBC! Phone Access Number: +1-650-479-3208 Phone Access Code/Meeting Number: 2559 920 9345

I. ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS

- 1) Call to Order
- 2) Roll Call and Confirmation of Quorum
- 3) Approval of Regular Meeting Minutes for:a) July 13, 2022 (Action Item)
- 4) Small Business Commission (SBC) Establishment of 2023 Nominating Committee
 - a) SBC Chair Robertson will lead the discussion in establishing the 2023 SBC Nominating Committee in accordance to Appendix G of the SBC Commission Manual.
- 5) SBC 2023 Calendar of Meetings
 - a) The SBC will review and approve their 2022 Calendar of Meetings. (Discussion and Action Item)
- 6) SBC 2023 Annual Report Deadline Jan 31, 2023
 - a) Chair Robertson will provide status update.
- 7) Department of Economic Opportunity Introduction
 - a) Daniel Kelleher, Assistant Director of the DEO Economic Development, will provide an introduction and overview of his plans for the department's future.

II. DISCUSSION

- SBC Executive, Procurement and Reciprocity Committee submits a letter of support to the Board and Director of the DEO in support of the August 9th, 2022, Board Motion, <u>Implementing the Priority Strategies of the Equity in County Contracting</u> <u>Project Team.</u>(2nd ECC Motion) (Discussion)
 - a) Procurement and Reciprocity Committee Chair Moreno-Linares will provide an overview of the letter in support of the 2nd ECC Motion.

Commissioners

Chair Mark J. Robertson Second District

Vice Chair W. Steven Temple Second District

Kerry Doi First District

Andrew E. Rodriguez First District

Rose Acosta-Yonai First District

Will Campbell Second District

Angela Gibson Second District

Ky Chueon Kim Second District Alternate

James Finney-Conlon Third District

R. Christine Hershey *Third District*

Scott Mayers, Ph.D. Third District

Arthur Lensky Third District

Cindy Allen Fourth District

Ann Carpenter Fourth District

Lucia Moreno-Linares Fourth District

Patrick Wilson Fourth District Alternate

Jozef Essavi *Fifth District*

Tyrone Hampton Fifth District

Frieda Hovsepian Fifth District

John Deane Leavenworth Fifth District

Onnik Mehrabian Fifth District Alternate



COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES SMALL BUSINESS COMMISSION

Board of Supervisors

Hilda L. Solis Holly J. Mitchell Sheila Kuehl Janice Hahn Kathryn Barger

- 9) SBC Procurement and Reciprocity and Economic Development & Outreach Committee Updates.
 - a) Procurement and Reciprocity Committee Chair Moreno-Linares and Economic Development and Outreach Committee Chair Gibson will provide an overview of each other's committee, goals for 2023, and the opportunity to join their committee. (Discussion and Possible Action Item)
- 10) DEO OSB/PTAC Supervisors
 - a) Jessica Mireles of the Office Small Business and Enrique Gonzalez of the Procurement Technical Assistance Center Program will provide an overview and insight on how each of their respective programs sees themselves fitting with the <u>2nd ECC Motion</u> and what role they would lead. **(Discussion)**

III. MISCELLANEOUS

- 11) SBC Future Agenda Items
- 12) Public Comment
- 13) Adjournment

NEXT MEETING: **January 10, 2023** 10:00 a.m.- 11:45 a.m. Location and Format To Be Determined Based on Brown Act Suspensions

> 510 S. Vermont Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90020 Website: <u>opportunity.lacounty.gov</u>

Commissioners

Chair Mark J. Robertson Second District

Vice Chair W. Steven Temple Second District

Diane L. Araujo First District

Kerry Doi First District

Andrew E. Rodriguez First District

Rose Acosta- Yonai First District

Will Campbell Second District

Angela Gibson Second District

Ky Chueon Kim Second District Alternate

James Finney-Conlon Third District

R. Christine Hershey *Third District*

Scott Mayers, Ph.D. Third District

Cindy Allen Fourth District

Ann Carpenter Fourth District

Lucia Moreno-Linares Fourth District

Patrick Wilson Fourth District Alternate

Jozef Essavi *Fifth District*

Tyrone Hampton Fifth District

Frieda Hovsepian Fifth District

Anthony Williams Fifth District

Onnik Mehrabian Fifth District Alternate

Please note that public comment will be accepted by e-mail or mail.

You may submit public comment by e-mail to <u>opportunity_sbcommision@opportunity.lacounty.gov</u> or by mail to:

> Attention: Department of Economic Opportunity Office of Small Business Commission 510 S. Vermont Avenue Los Angeles, CA 90020

Written public comment or documentation must be submitted no later than 5:00 p.m. the day before the scheduled meeting. Please include the Agenda item and meeting date in your correspondence. Correspondence received shall become part of the official record.

LOBBYIST REGISTRATION

Any person who seeks support or endorsement from the Commission on any official action may be subject to the provisions of Los Angeles County Code, Chapter 2.160 relating to lobbyists. Violation of the lobbyist ordinance may result in a fine and other penalty. For further information, call (213) 974-1093.

ACCOMMODATIONS

Accommodations, American Sign Language (ASL) interpreters, or assisted listening devices are available with at least three business days' notice before the meeting date. Agendas in Braille and/or alternate formats are available upon request. Please telephone (213) 974-1431 (voice) or (213) 974-1707 (TDD), from 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Para información en español, por favor comuníquese a la oficina de Servicios de Comisión al numero (213) 974-1431 entre 8:00 a.m. y 5:00 p.m. lunes a viernes.

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION

Supporting documentation can be obtained at the Department of Workforce Development, Aging and Community Services, 510 S Vermont Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90020 during normal business hours: Monday – Friday, 8:00 A.M. – 4:30 P.M.