LOS ANGELES COUNTY

CONSUMER &
BUSINESS AFFAIRS

DCBA.LACOUNTY.GOV

(800) 593-8222

AFTER THE DISASTER

Fires, floods, and

disasters are

earthquakes,

common in

difficult to know who is there to help

who might want to take advantage of the
situation. Consider the following tips to

avoid being taken advantage of.

PRICE GOUGING

If the government (e.g. President,
Governor, mayor, County Board of
Supervisors) declares an emergency, it
may be a crime to increase prices of food,
repairs, construction, housing, emergency
and medical supplies, and gasoline by
more than 10% in the disaster area. If you
believe a business is breaking the law,
keep receipts and report it to DCBA online
at stoppricegouging.dcba.lacounty.gov
or call (800) 593-8222.

PHONY “DISASTER OFFICIALS”

Crooks might show up after a disaster and
claim to be from a government agency.
They pressure you to pay for expensive,
unneeded repairs. They may also claim to
be brokers, and if you pay a “processing
fee,” they will get you a check from FEMA
or other government agencies. Real
disaster officials carry proper identification.
If someone claims to be one, ask to see
their ID. Call your local police department
to report phony “government officials.”

Los Angeles County Department
of Consumer and Business Affairs
320 W. Temple Street, Suite G-10
Los Angeles, CA 90012

If calling from outside Los Angeles County:
(213) 974-1452
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PUBLIC INSURANCE ADJUSTERS

Public insurance adjusters do not work for
your insurance company but you can hire
them to help you negotiate a settlement with
your insurance company. They usually
charge a fee of 10% of the insurance claim
proceeds you receive. If you choose to hire
one, select the right one. They must be
licensed by the California Department of
Insurance and have a bond. Check their
references and ask about their work
experience. For more information, contact
the California Department of Insurance at
(800) 927-4357 or check their online
database at insurance.ca.gov.

MOVING COMPANIES

Moving companies must be licensed by the
California Bureau of Household Goods and

Services. Before you hire a moving
company, visit bhgs.dca.ca.gov or call
(916) 999-2041 to check whether the

company has a valid license, or if people
have complained against them.
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CONTRACTORS AND REPAIRS

Contractors in California must be licensed if
they charge you $500 or more for repairs.
Contact the Contractors State License Board
at (800) 321-2752 or www.cslb.ca.gov to
find out if a contractor has a valid license, or
if people have complained against them.
After a disaster, do not be rushed or pushed
into signing a contract for repairs. Before you
choose a contractor, get several bids, and
make sure all verbal promises are in the
written contract, including materials to be
used, costs, and the completion dates.

If the total cost for materials and labor is
$500 or more, the contractor can charge you
a down payment of only $1,000 or 10% of the
total cost, whichever is lowest. Do not make
the final payment until the contractor
completes the work, pays his workers, and
the city inspectors approve the work.

BOGUS CHARITIES

Beware of telemarketers, door-to-door
salespeople, and junk e-mails asking for
donations to bogus disaster charities. Many
bogus charities use names that sound like the
real ones. Give only to charities you know.
Avoid people who will not give you their
name, phone number, or written materials.
Never give money to people sent to your
home to pick up cash. Be also suspicious of
out-of-state groups, especially if their only
address is a P.O. Box. Contact the Attorney
General’s Office Charity Registration at
(800) 952-5225 or oag.ca.gov/charities to
see if a charity is real.

DOOR-TO-DOOR SALES

If a person sells you something at your home
for $25 or more, you have the right to cancel
the contract within three days and get a full
refund. The salesperson must tell you of your
3-day right to cancel and give you a
cancellation form. You can cancel for any
reason, but you must do it in writing.

CALL DCBA: (800) 593-8222

DCBA.LACOUNTY.GOV

ADVANCE-FEE LOANS

Following a disaster, you might need a quick
loan to rebuild your home or business. Don’t be
tempted by offers of “guaranteed” loans that
require costly advance fees in order to get
them. If you use one of these companies, you
may never get a loan or see your money again.
Protect yourself. Deal only with licensed
lenders. Following a disaster, you may be
entitled to get a loan from the U.S. Small
Business Administration. For more information,
contact (800) 827-5722 or www.sba.gov.

RENTAL LISTING COMPANIES

The California Department of Real Estate must
license companies that charge you in advance
to find you a place to live. Contact them at
(877) 373-4542 or www.dre.ca.gov to check
whether a company has a valid license, or find
out if people have complained against them. Be
aware that many companies charge for rental
listings that are old or don’t exist. The company
must give you a written contract. Read and
understand the contract before you sign it.

WATER TESTING SCAMS

Bogus firms may try to get you to buy
expensive, useless water filters. They offer to
test your water for free and claim your water is
bad. Contact your water company or the County
Environmental Health Department to find out if
your water is bad. The water company’s
number is on their monthly bill. Contact the L.A.
County Department of Environmental Health at
(888) 700-9995 or lapublichealth.orgl/eh.

LANDLORDS AND TENANTS

If you rent a home or an apartment and your
place is severely damaged in a disaster, you
can move out right away. You do not have to
give your landlord advance notice, and you
have the right to get back your security deposit
and last month’s rent. Your landlord has to
send you this money within three weeks after
you move out. For help, contact DCBA.

Follow us on social media o eLACountyDCBA



